DIY Food Photography

Image

If there is one pass time that I enjoy more than anything creative, it would be eating. I not only eat everything off my plate (or try to), but I have a very adventurous palette. While my sisters opt for a generic burger with fries, I might order the Grilled Calamari or Octopus Tentacles or even Swordfish (although I still enjoy the generic burger with fries combo like any other individual). However, as well as enjoying to eat food, I do enjoy looking at food.

So, as you may have guessed already, this post is about Food Photography. Now, the picture above with me about to devour a cupcake is NOT part of this DIY, (although taking pictures of people about to shove food into their faces, really is hilarious!). Anyways, here are a couple tips when it comes to taking beautiful photographs of food.

  1. Use White and Silver Bounce Cards – Wondering what the heck those are?? Well, they are used to create a broader, directional light source where there isn’t sufficient ambient light. They are generally used to control the shadows and highlight contrasts in various lighting situations. So, in food photography, bounce cards become helpful in adding more colour and texture to the food in your images.
  2. Play around with your Focal Point – One element I love about taking pictures of food would have to be playing with the focal of the image, making what the viewer is looking at more interesting. Find one piece of the food, whether its a mound of rice or a drip of chocolate or a swirl of icing on a cake, to bring to the forefront.
  3. Try shooting Overhead – Enough said.
  4. Style the Plate – Now, I don’t mean the actual plate; I mean the stuff on the plate. Pay attention to the balance of the food, colour palette, rule of thirds perhaps, etc. You want the stuff in the photograph to make the viewers’ mouths water like CRAZY!
  5. Just HAVE FUN – Get creative with the food you decide to shot and also where you are. Take pictures of dishes made at restaurants, coffee shops, bakeries, and even from the food cart/truck!

So there you have it!

Now, I’m going out and making my book of really beautiful food! AND I will put them up here as I go along, but for now, here is what my cover looks like so far 🙂

979823_10200237274113737_1346878951_o

Leave a Reply

