Working Girl (Life in a Corporate Job) Part: 1

Hey there fellow readers!

Recently, I was going through my blog posts and noticed something of a shock to me… I HAVE NOT IN ANY OF MY BLOG POSTS MENTIONED MY 2013 SUMMER JOB!!!!!!!!!!!!
(This may be because I’m a pretty modest individual, but in this case I’m just going to brag a little so bear with me).

This summer, I luckily landed a job as a summer student at Manulife Financial in Toronto. Basically, this large life insurance company operates in Canada and Asia as “Manulife Financial” and in the U.S.A through its John Hancock division.

At this point, you may be asking yourself, “What is a Graphic Designer doing in an insurance company??” Believe me, a few people have asked me that question.

Let me explain.

I am working in the Marketing Department of Manulife Financial, but with the Creative Team!

What does the Creative Team do?

They create the necessary design elements someone in the department may need. For example, someone could ask for a booklet or a flyer or a poster and the Creative Team will put it together.

However, since I am a summer student who just started working last week, I’m editing typographical changes to documents, setting up documents for production, and securing pdf files.

I’m sure more is to come while I’m a Working Girl so I’ll keep posting about the job.

Screen Shot 2013-05-14 at 9.58.30 PM

Leave a Reply

