Laptops, Fantasies, and Rice Cookers??

I have been fantasizing about my first-year experience lately. Some of my friends are already making shopping trips to IKEA and Canadian Tire for the basic necessities needed their rooms and for just general survival. One of my best friends is even taking the extremes and sneaking a rice cooker into her room! Me? You ask? I won’t be needing to make those trips to IKEA and whatever and sneaking rice cookers anywhere (where do you even buy a rice cooker??). I will have to make a stop at a mall of some description to purchase new clothes because when you go to a private school for most of your life, the school uniform takes a prominent spot in the closet. Nevertheless, the only important purchases that need to be made for my “room” will be my TTC Student Pass and my new LAPTOP! To make things more clear, I am going into first-year Graphic Design at OCAD University so that basically explains why I’m not making those trips like my friends. However, the trip to get my new LAPTOP may just be the most important one of all!

MacBook Pro with Retina Display

Let me explain.

I have a soft-spot for good working Apple Products. For those with PCs, you may turn your nose into the air and think whatever you like. Apple is just pure awesome! So, you could understand my constant nagging about my new laptop, considering my current 6-year-old MacBook is about to die. This lead to my sisters rolling their eyes and hoping I would just shut up about my new computer. I would give my dad a sorrowful look like my puppy died and he would just roll his eyes. No matter what, getting my new computer was a slow slow process.

Luckily, though, I have determined which kind of computer I would like in my possession. It is the new Apple MacBook Pro with Retina Display. It is light like the MacBook Air and as resolution screen of 2880 x 1800 pixels, which is a pretty damn good screen. I, in early June, went to OCAD for a workshop to help me register my courses and there was a booth available to ask questions about computers. I spent about most of my time discussing with a worker in the OCAD store about which computer I should buy. He, inevitably, said this new MacBook Pro would be the best choice for a Graphic Design student as myself.

So, when I finally convinced my dad to drive me to OCAD to get my computer, I found out that the exact type of computer I wanted to purchase was all gone. OUT OF STOCK! My worst fear came true! More waiting!

Now that my new laptop is on order and I expect it to arrive in the next week or 2, I definitely feel that the wait will be so worth it. I now feel like my friend with the rice cooker simply because I need this for my room next year.

My LAPTOP is her RICE COOKER.

laptop

rice cooker

4 thoughts on “Laptops, Fantasies, and Rice Cookers??

Leave a Reply

