My Roman Holiday with Bernini

Rome Trip March 2011

I like going on trips like any other person. The feeling of getting off that airplane you’ve been sitting in for hours and walking on foreign ground is just an exhilarating feeling. Honestly, the one thing I enjoy most is visiting a new place. This reminds me of the trip I took last year to Rome, Italy with 9 other students and 2 school teachers.

Rome is probably one of my favourite cities I have ever visited in my life thus far. Apart from the fabulous food, like their paninis, pastas, and pizzas, what I enjoyed most was the art.

It seemed like every where I went, there was something Bernini. If you don’t know who or what Bernini is, you obviously haven’t been to Rome before. Gian Lorenzo Bernini was an Italian artist who worked primarily in Rome as the leading sculptor of his age. He created many sculptures, much of which are featured in museums, churches, and fountains.

What I particularly enjoy in Bernini’s works are his representations of dramatic and dynamic moments. For example, the Apollo and Daphne (1622-1625) statue depicts the moment of Daphne’s transformation from a nymph into a tree, a true moment of change, which is difficult to sculpt. Another example is the Ecstasy of Saint Teresa (1647-1652) in the Santa Maria della Vittoria. Immediately when I saw the statue, I was in awe. Seeing something so majestic and heavenly is a feeling I have trouble describing.

The Ecstasy of Saint Teresa

If you have the opportunity to travel to a new place, I would definitely recommend going to Rome, Italy, especially if you like art history.

Leave a Reply

