Simple, Beautiful, Desirable

exploding lampshade

Last week at my high school, my art class had its Art Show. the 16 members, including myself, created interesting and diverse works, ranging from fashion to video to drawing to graffiti. I decided to be ambitious and create two pieces: two large scale drawings and something else completely different… Lampshades!

here is my artist statement:

Lampshades

Lampshades are fixtures made to cover the lightbulb on a lamp to diffuse the light it emits.

I made my first original lampshade in a Summer Intensive Program at OCAD University during a workshop on Product Design. I took away from that the three rules to follow when creating a design for a product.

You need to make the product:

1.   Simple

2.   Desirable

3.   Beautiful

These lampshades represent these three rules.

Fish Bowl Lampshade

There’s not really much else I can say about this…

Leave a Reply

